ICC Cricket World Cup 2019


Cricket fans would know the hype about the ICC Cricket World Cup and the competition and exposure it generates. It is conducted every four years and the 12th edition of the World Cup will be held in 2019 from May 30th to July 14th. The tournament will be held in England and Wales and it is the fifth world cup they are holding. The 2019 World Cup has a total of 10 teams with the qualification process of the top 7 countries in the international ODI rankings besides England. The remaining two spots are decided through the World Cup Qualifiers and the remaining teams will compete in them.



The list of the hosting cities and the stadiums is as follows.

  • Edgbaston Stadium in Birmingham
  • The Oval Stadium, London
  • Headingley Stadium, Leeds
  • Trent Bridge Stadium, Nottingham
  • Sophia Gardens, Cardiff
  • County Ground, Taunton
  • Bristol County Ground, Bristol
  • Riverside Ground, Chester-le-Street
  • Lord’s Stadium, London
  • Old Trafford, Manchester
  • Rose Bowl, Southampton

The format used is similar to the one used in the 1992 Cricket World Cup. This means that all the 10 teams will play against each other once and there will be a total of 45 matches. The top four teams will progress to the knockout stage. This knockout stage will then progress to two semi finals and the two winning teams will then have a final face off at Lord’s, London.

The detailed fixtures of the match schedules are available on the official website along with the venues and time of the matches. They are susceptible to depending upon the conditions and the viewers will be updated accordingly. The general sale of tickets for the audience will be available soon before the commencement of the tournament.