PSL 8: Islamabad United Squad 2023

PSL 7 Islamabad United Squad 2022
Share this

Find complete squad of Islamabad United for PSL 2023 season 8.

Islamabad United has been the part of Pakistan Super League since 2016. The team represents the federal capital, the Islamabad city of Pakistan. Securing the trophy two times so far, the team is so far the strongest team of PSL. Following in this article, I have provided all details about the team, list of players, owner, coaching and management staff and all other details.


Retained Players

  1. Shadab Khan – Platinum – Pakistani
  2. Alex Hales – Platinum – English
  3. Rahmanullah Gurbaz – Platinum
  4. Asif Ali – Diamond – Pakistani
  5. Mohammad Wasim Jr – Diamond – Pakistani
  6. Hasan Ali – Gold – Pakistani
  7. Faheem Ashraf – Gold – Pakistani
  8. Azam Khan – Gold – Pakistani
  9. Colin Munro – Silver – South African – New Zealand
  10. Paul Stirling – Silver – Irish


Draft Picks

  1. Fazal Haq Farooqi – Diamond – Afghan
  2. Sohaib Maqsood – Silver – Pakistani
  3. Rumman Raees – Silver – Pakistani
  4. Abrar Ahmed – Silver – Pakistani
  5. Hasan Nawaz – Emerging – Pakistani
  6. Zeeshan Zameer – Emerging – Pakistani
  7. Mubasir Khan – Emerging – Pakistani
  8. Moeen Ali – Supplementary – English
  9. Tom Curran – Supplementary – English
  10. Zafar Gohar – Supplementary – Pakistani


Released Players

  • Marchant de Lange
  • Muhammad Akhlaq
  • Danish Aziz
  • Athar Mahmood
  • Mohammad Huraira
  • Muhammad Musa
  • Zahir Khan
  • Waqas Maqsood
  • Liam Dawson
  • Will Jacks
  • Zahid Mahmood
  • Nasir Nawaz



Shadab Khan is the captain of Islamabad United for PSL 8, 2023.


Islamabad United Confirmed Team Squad for PSL 8

Shadab Khan (c), Alex Hales, Rahmanullah Gurbaz, Asif Ali, Mohammad Wasim Jr., Hasan Ali, Faheem Ashraf, Azam Khan, Colin Munro, Paul Stirling, Fazal Haq Farooqi, Sohaib Maqsood, Rumman Raees, Abrar Ahmed, Hasan Nawaz, Zeeshan Zameer, Mubasir Khan, Moeen Ali, Tom Curran, Zafar Gohar



For the eighth PSL 2023, Sabroso is the title sponsor of the IU. Food Panda is the Q-commerce partner, HumTV is media partner, Fast Cables is the power partner, Premier Code is the smartphone partner, Tetra Pak Pakistan is the nutrition partner of Islamabad United for PSL season 8. FM 101 is radio partner whereas Pro Pakistani is digital media partner of the franchise.


Team History, Details and Identity

Islamabad United was one of the five teams that were part of the first season of Pakistan Super League in 2016. The franchise was purchased by Leonine Global Sports for an amount of USD 15 Million.

The name ‘Islamabad United’ and logo was disclosed on Dec 22, 2015 at Polo Club, Islamabad. Logo features a lion with a tagline ‘UNITED, WE WIN‘. Logo and the kit contains orange, red and light brown colors.


Rizwan Hussain



Anthem for the first season of PSL (2016) was “Chakka Chouka” from the famous pop singer ‘Ali Zafar‘. For the later seasons, new anthems were released which include “Cricket Joray Pakistan” by Momina Mustehsan and “Kitna Rola Dalay Ga” by Abdullah Qureshi.



Pakistani pop singer and public figure Ali Zafar was the first ambassador of Islamabad United for the year 2016. Another Pakistani celebrity Fawad Khan remained the team ambassador from 2016 to 2018. Pop singer Momina Mustehsan was nominated as Empowerment Champion in the year 2017.


Coaching/Management Staff

Owner: Ali Naqvi and Amna Naqvi (Leonine Global Sports)
Captain: Shadab Khan
Head Coach: Azhar Mahmood
Asst. Coach: Saeed Ajmal
Pace Bowling Coach: Donovan Miller
Fielding Coach & Fitness Trainer: Corey Rutgers
Physiotherapist: Errol Alcott
General Manager: Rehan ul Haq
Strategy Manager: Hassan Cheema



Islamabad United Matches Schedule for PSL 2022

1Thursday16-FebKarachi Kings vs Islamabad UnitedKarachi7:00 PM
2Sunday19-FebMultan Sultans vs Islamabad UnitedMultan2:00 PM
3Thursday23-FebPeshawar Zalmi vs Islamabad UnitedKarachi7:00 PM
4Friday24-FebQuetta Gladiators vs Islamabad UnitedKarachi7:00 PM
5Monday27-FebLahore Qalandars vs Islamabad UnitedLahore7:00 PM
6Friday3-MarIslamabad United vs Karachi KingsRawalpindi7:00 PM
7Sunday5-MarIslamabad United vs Quetta GladiatorsRawalpindi7:00 PM
8Tuesday7-MarIslamabad United vs Multan SultansRawalpindi7:00 PM
9Thursday9-MarIslamabad United vs Lahore QalandarsRawalpindi7:00 PM
10Sunday12-MarIslamabad United vs Peshawar ZalmiRawalpindi2:00 PM


PSL Performance History

202093600Group stage
Total442518012 Trophies


Players’ Stats

Batting/Most Runs

Luke RonchiNew Zealand2018-present3131102036.4294*010
Asif AliPakistan2016-present433665525.197002
Hussain TalatPakistan2017-present292446323.155601
Shadab KhanPakistan2017-present413243816.847703
Dwayne SmithBarbados2016-17131342738.817304

Data Source: ESPNCricInfo


Bowling/Most Wickets

Faheem AshrafPakistan2018-present314618.5211
Mohammad SamiPakistan2016-19364220.8301
Shadab KhanPakistan2017-present413728.1800
Rumman RaeesPakistan2016-present323424.0510
Andre RussellJamaica2016, 2018142018.2500

Data Source: ESPNCricInfo



Other Teams in 2023 Series:



Follow me

Share this

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *