PSL 2019 Teams


Pakistan Super League 2019 Teams and Players

Let’s first give you an overview of the basic theme of the teams and the rules. There are 6 teams in the PSL and each team is allowed to retain 9 players. Initially, there were 5, but this year around, there are 6 added into the mixture to represent the 6 major cities of Pakistan. There is a mix of players in each team. Pakistani players take up places to represent their home city. Most of the other players are foreign and individually paid about $10000 for each match they play.



Quetta Gladiators

Key Players:

View Full Squad

The Quetta Gladiators made wiser decisions by welcoming Dwayne Bravo for Platinum and Fawad Ahmed for Gold category. Playing beside them will be some other Pakistani names including Sarfaraz Ahmed, Sohail Tanvir, Mohammad Nawaz, Umar Akmal and Saud Shakeel. The Quetta Gladiators also went with the supplementary round and managed to get Harry Gurney, Azam Khan, Ahmed Shehzad and Jalat Khan all of which are some pretty decent players.


Islamabad United

Key Players:

  • Luke Ronchi
  • Shadab Khan
  • Ruman Raees
  • Faheem Ashraf
  • Muhammad Sami

View Full Squad

Next up, the Islamabad united chose all of their 20 players and ended up with some pretty remarkable picks. They got their hands on Ian Bell, Samit Patel and Phil Salt. Later on they moved to pick Cameron Delport and Muhammad Musa, and Nasir Nawaz. It is well known, the supplementary players may not even get to play but Islamabad isn’t taking any chance and went on to choose Wayne Parnell, Zahir Khan, Amad Butt, and Rizwan Hussain. It seems like Islamabad united ran into some good luck this time around as they managed to get together a pretty strong team for the 4th Edition of Pakistan Super League.


Karachi Kings

Key Players:

  • Colin Munro
  • Muhammad Amir
  • Babar Azam
  • Colin Ingram
  • Usman Shinwari
  • Ravi Bopara

View Full Squad

Likewise, the Karachi Kings weren’t far behind with their line up as well they managed to get some pretty good names to their credit too. They opted for Sikandar Raza and added some more valuable names to the team. These include Awais Zia, Usama Mir, Aaron Summers, Sohail Khan and Iftikhar Ahmed.

Over in the emerging category, Karachi chose to have Ali Imran and Abrar Ahmed. In the supplementary round, Karachi Kings were satisfied with Aamer Yamin, Ben Dunk, Liam Livingstone and Jaahid Ali.


Peshawar Zalmi

Key Players:

  • Darren Sammy (Captain)
  • Wahab Riaz
  • Hasan Ali
  • Liam Dawson
  • Kamran Akmal
  • Kieron Pollard

View Full Squad

The Peshawar Zalmi came first last year, which means they won’t be incorporating many changes in their lineup. However, they did make some big moves this year and the batting line up is stronger than ever. This time they added Kieron Pollard as their Platinum Pick. They also added Misbah ul Haq, Dawid Malan as well as Umar Amin to the squad. If they weren’t enough, the Zalmi went on to procure some great emerging player by incorporating Nabi Gul into the team.

Down to the last round, the supplementary round resulted in Waqar Salamkheil, Chris Jordan, Ibtisam Sheikh and Samiullah Afridi joining the stunning group. Of course, supplementary aren’t expected to play but then again, Zalmi has some great choices if ever the need arises.


Lahore Qalandars

Key Players:

  • AB de Villiers
  • Carlos Brathwaite
  • Mohammad Hafeez
  • Corey Anderson
  • Fakhar Zaman
  • Yasir Shah

View Full Squad

The Lahore Qalandars went into the trough first and were the first team to get their hands on a platinum player, the expensive South African player, AB de Villiers. The Lahore Qalandars went on to pick Mohammad Hafeez and Carlos Brathwaite. They also chose Corey Anderson, Sandeep Lamichhane, as well as Haris Sohail. As for the supplementary round, the Lahoris went for Brendan Taylor, Gauhar Ali, Aizaz Cheema and Haris Rauf.


Multan Sultans

Key Players:

  • Steve Smith
  • Shahid Afridi
  • Joe Denly
  • Shoaib Malik
  • Junaid Khan
  • Mohammad Irfan

View Full Squad

Finally, it’s all about the Multan Consortium, formerly known as Multan Sultans. Ali Tareen from Multan is the new team owner, purchased the team for the 4th Edition of Pakistan Super League. They chose Steve Smith, Shahid Afridi, Joe Denly, Qais Ahmed, Nicolas Pooran, Laurie Evans, and Nauman Ali.


Players Salaries (Category Wise)


The platinum players for the PSL 2018 teams squad will receive a staggering $140000 to $230000.


While the diamond category players will receive $75000 to $80000 salary.


The golds aren’t far behind with a salary of $50000 to 60000.


Following them closely are the silver players taking up to $22000 to $33000 salary while the emerging category is for $10000 to $12000.

Foreign Players

Besides this, each foreign player will also be paid a sum for each PSL 2018 match they play. According to PCB, each foreign player will be paid an additional $10000 for each PSL match they play.

Moreover, PCB has decided to increase the number of players in the PSL 2018 teams to 21. The last team member will be a new recruit that is to be found through talent shows and will be featured in the matches. This is a step to promote cricket in the country and find new players that could potentially highlight Pakistani cricket in the world.


Shani Cricketer
Follow me

Shani Cricketer

I am Shani, a cricketer by nature, a blogger by option. Since PSL T20 commenced in Pakistan, I decided to put my cricket passion online on this web known as Currently, I am trying to cover every aspect of PSL Season 4.
Shani Cricketer
Follow me

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *